The Hotel’s third major renovation began in November of 2002, and continued up until the spring of 2006. At this time the hotel property was owned by the Ross Family, who purchased the hotel’s property in 2000. This renovation surpassed ten million dollars. Construction was started at the fifth level, and once completed, moved to the next level and so on, until the entire building had been renovated floor by floor. This renovation took us from around 104 guest rooms down to 89 guest rooms.
At this time the buildings to the right of the Hotel on Market Street were eliminated and a piece of that property was purchased to make room for our new garden patio area. At this time there was also a large hole opened up through the main dining room wall, in order to make room for the new doors leading from the main dining room out onto the new garden patio. There was also a portable stage area added to this area, in order to allow a spot for outdoor garden entertainment to occur during the summer months. There was also a climate-controlled patio tent that was added as well at this time for Hotel functions to be held in.
Discover More History! Click one of the links below to explore more about the history at The Blennerhassett Hotel & Spa!
History – 1960 Presidential Campaign
In 1960, Mr. Robert Huck ran and operated the Blennerhassett Hotel. One of our most famous guests to have stayed at the hotel, at this time period was a young senator from Massachusetts, Senator John F. Kennedy. While running for the presidency in 1960, it was crucial to win West Virginia’s electoral vote. Kennedy touredRead More
History – The Legacy Continues 2019 – Present
In October of 2019, the hotel was sold and became under new local ownership. Currently known as the company R&W Hotels, and owned and operated by Wayne Waldeck and Lee Eric Rector, both local businessmen here in Parkersburg. In the early part of 2020 there were some new changes made to the hotel. Faux tinRead More
History – Return to Glory 1985 – 2002
The Hotels second major renovation began in 1985, and continued until the early spring of 1986, surpassing seven million dollars. The new addition to the hotel was added at this time, including a grand Ballroom and Promenade on the first floor and guest rooms on the second through fifth floors, bringing the number of roomsRead More
History – First Renovation & Fire 1944-1979
History - First Renovation & Fire 1944-1979 The Hotel has had three major renovations since its opening in 1889. The first major renovation occurred in 1944-45, when William Chancellor’s grandson, Nelson C. Burwell ran and operated the hotel. At this time a new terrazzo floor was added to the lobby area and marble facade wasRead More
History – “Hotel Blennerhassett” from 1889
The Historic Blennerhassett Hotel was built and constructed by Colonel William Nelson Chancellor. Construction on the original part of the hotel began in 1883, and after six years of construction, the doors were officially opened to the world on Monday, May 6, 1889. Chancellor wanted a hotel grand for its time, and second to noRead More
Click below for hotel photos and newspaper clippings over the decades! If you have any additional images or clippings not listed here, we’d love to have a copy! Please email firstname.lastname@example.org.