• 1.304.422.3131
  • 320 Market St., Parkersburg, WV

History – The Legacy Continues 2019 – Present

In October of 2019, the hotel was sold and became under new local ownership. Currently known as the company R&W Hotels, and owned and operated by Wayne Waldeck and Lee Eric Rector, both local businessmen here in Parkersburg.

In the early part of 2020 there were some new changes made to the hotel. Faux tin ceilings were added in the library and throughout the main lobby and promenade area of the hotel. The current day library was given a facelift. The carpeting, which had covered the area in the library for over 35 years, had a treasure hiding underneath of it. The Terrazzo lobby floor, which was laid in 1944/45, was still there. 

After a months’ worth of cleaning and restoring, it was finally brought back to life. Also two new chandeliers were hung in the lounge and main dining room areas. These chandeliers came from a home located near the Versace mansion. One of our main goals now is being able to transform the lounge and dining room back to having the historical look, feel and décor of the main part of the hotel. Very slowly we are being able to do little things at a time in order to be able to bring back the historical feel that was lost during the 2019 renovation in there.  

Lee’s Studio at The Blennerhassett opened on the second floor in 2022, completing the move that November. With this, the boutique hotel officially became “The Blennerhassett Hotel and Spa.” Lee’s Studio at The Blennerhassett provides an unmatched experience for guests of the Hotel and local clients, upgrading the experience of visiting The Historic Blennerhassett Hotel to the next level.

To this day, we are currently the oldest operating boutique hotel in the state of West Virginia. Still proudly locally owned, we are here to serve our local community, and our traveling clientele as well with the utmost class and style. Here at the Blennerhassett Hotel & Spa we serve all of our clientele proudly, and strive to make everyone’s visit here to this hotel a pleasurable and memorable experience. We like to think of ourselves here at the Blennerhassett Hotel as ladies and gentlemen, serving ladies and gentleman

Historic Hotel Tours - Click for Info

Discover More History! Click one of the links below to explore more about the history at The Blennerhassett Hotel & Spa!

History – 1960 Presidential Campaign

In 1960, Mr. Robert Huck ran and operated the Blennerhassett Hotel. One of our most famous guests to have stayed at the hotel, at this time period was a young senator from Massachusetts, Senator John F. Kennedy. While running for the presidency in 1960, it was crucial to win West Virginia’s electoral vote. Kennedy touredRead More

History – Most Recent Renovation 2002 – 2006

The Hotel's third major renovation began in November of 2002, and continued up until the spring of 2006. At this time the hotel property was owned by the Ross Family, who purchased the hotel's property in 2000. This renovation surpassed ten million dollars. Construction was started at the fifth level, and once completed, moved toRead More

History – Return to Glory 1985 – 2002

The Hotels second major renovation began in 1985, and continued until the early spring of 1986, surpassing seven million dollars. The new addition to the hotel was added at this time, including a grand Ballroom and Promenade on the first floor and guest rooms on the second through fifth floors, bringing the number of roomsRead More

History – First Renovation & Fire 1944-1979

History - First Renovation & Fire 1944-1979 The Hotel has had three major renovations since its opening in 1889. The first major renovation occurred in 1944-45, when William Chancellor’s grandson, Nelson C. Burwell ran and operated the hotel. At this time a new terrazzo floor was added to the lobby area and marble facade wasRead More

History – “Hotel Blennerhassett” from 1889

The Historic Blennerhassett Hotel was built and constructed by Colonel William Nelson Chancellor. Construction on the original part of the hotel began in 1883, and after six years of construction, the doors were officially opened to the world on Monday, May 6, 1889. Chancellor wanted a hotel grand for its time, and second to noRead More

Click below for hotel photos and newspaper clippings over the decades! If you have any additional images or clippings not listed here, we’d love to have a copy! Please email adotson@theblennerhassett.com.

Media Archives


Check In

Nights of Stay
Adult Occupancy
Optional Preferences